Great batting by DY Patil along with Pravin Tambe’s six for steers DY Patil to a title win in the Purshottam Shield Tournament ‘17

This year’s Purshottam has been nothing short of a thriller as we got to see amazing matches, some scintillating knocks and some breath-taking bowling perfomances. After fighting against numerous teams and a lot of hard work, it was the all important finals between DY Patil and New Hind SC where in DY Patil batted first after winning the toss at PJ Hindu Gymkhana.

In-form Aman Khan blasts a 58ball 144 in the Vijay Manjrekar/Ramankant Desai T20 Tournament

Aman Khan who scored 107 off 101balls in the finals

Living up to their reputation of a strong batting line up, DY Patil once again notched up a mammoth 609runs for just 5wkts before they declared their innings after facing 100 overs. Opener Shoaib Shaikh who took 2stunning catches in the match once again gave a solid start with his 82(121balls, 13fours, 1six). No.3 bat Aman Khan who has been giving good starts throughout the tournament finally got a deserving ton scoring 107 off 101balls (17fours, 2sixes). Aman played his natural game as always while Shubham Ranjane who is now amongst the top run getters of the tournament continued his purple patch with the bat as he again notched up a match winning knock of 163 off 147balls(13fours,7sixes). Abhishek Nayar(84) and Yogesh Takawale(81) also contributed with crucial 80’s at the middle order taking their team total to a big one.

Shubham Ranjane (DY Patil Team) 115 runs in 140 balls 11 fours and 1 six

Shubham Ranjane who scored 163 off 147balls

In reply, New Hind SC were bundled out for just 147 runs as spinner Pravin Tambe continues to shut the critics down that age hardly matters when you have talent. Tambe demolished the opposition’s batting line up with 6/28 in 10.3overs(4maidens) and that too at a crucial stage like finals. DY Patil won eventually won the match on 1st innings lead and Tambe’s bowling played a big role in it. Pravin Tambe was also declared the ‘best bowler of the tournament’ as he has been amongst the top wicket takers this season. Shashank Singh on the other hand was declared the ‘best batman’ in the tournament where he scored a lot of runs including 2 double centuries.





Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top