Rizvi wins on the back of Mohit Tanvar & Tejas chalke’s tons while Sahil Jadhav scores a fighting 150 in the Giles Shield Finals

Featured image- Rizvi Team (Winners)

Don Bosco and Rizvi Springfield, the schools which are considered to be the most powerful and strong teams at the school level finally clashed with each other after an intenseful season where both the teams fought hard throughout the tournament to reach the ultimate face off and that is the finale at the iconic Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Rizvi who have a strong batting line up elected to bat first after winning the toss.

Batting first, Rizvi Springfield started off on a strong note with Owais Khan (47) & Abhinav Singh (85) giving a flying start setting up the positive momentum. Mohit Tanvar who came in at no.3 continued the positive momentum as he went on to score a fantastic ton smashing 127 off 233balls (13fours, 1six). Owais Shaikh at no.5 chipped in with 47 while Tejas Chalke at no.6 came up with a solid 100 off 158deliveries. Coming down the order, tejas kept the scoreboard ticking as he helped his team post a big total. Mohit and Tejas fired at the right time and that too in such a high pressure stage. Delivering perfomance and that too in the finals speaks a lot about the class & temperament of these boys as their elegant batting pushed Rizvi to a big total of 495/8 in 135.2 overs. From Don Bosco, Chris Britto with 3/90 was once again the most impressive of the lot.

Don Bosco Runners Up Team

Chasing 496, Don Bosco were literally struggling at 7/87 at one stage but Sahil Jadhav at no.4 did not gave up till the very last ball as he scored a hard-fought 150 facing as many as 324deliveries to give his best to save Don Bosco from a defeat. Sahil who smashed 19fours kept on scoring runs at one end while wickets were falling from the other side. Nutan Goyal at down the order also played a crucial hand with his 52. Umar Khan with 4/84 was the pick of the bowlers while the rest of the bowlers also did a fairly decent job. Restricting Don Bosco to 395/9 at the end of teh game’s play, Rizvi were eventually crowned the champions while Don Bosco were the runners-up in the tournament while Mohit Tanvar was declared the ‘best batsman’. Sahil Jadhav’s efforts were also equally commendable while bowlers Chris and Umar Khan were impressive with the ball for their respective teams. The final ceremony was conducted under the presence of former Indian Cricketer Yajurvendra Singh amongst other dignitaries as the tournament ended on a successful note.




Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top