Aarav shines for Vasai Centre; Aarush strikes in Chinchani win in U14 Ajit Naik Tournament’22


Mumbai: An impressive bowling spell by Aarav Malhatora who claimed 6 wickets for 31 runs secured Vasai Centre a thumping victory against Nallasopara Centre by an innings and 12 runs on the second day of their first round match of the 25th Ajit Naik Memorial Under-14 selection trials cricket tournament 2022, organised by WSC under the aegis of the Mumbai Cricket Association and played at the Sainath Sports Club ground, Virar. Aarav who finished with 8 wickets was declared as the ‘Player of the Match’.

Nallasopara were bowled out for 147 in the first innings and in reply Vasai declared their first innings at 245 for 5 wickets after Kshitij Pal missed a century falling for 97 runs (141-balls, 14x4s, 1x6s) and to take a 98 runs lead. The Nallasopara batters fared miserably in the second, getting dismissed for 86 runs in 31.5 overs and losing the game.

Chinchani Centre strike bowler Aarush Thakur also had a fruitful day taking 7 wickets for 19 runs in the second innings to send Tarapur Centre crushing to a 238-run defeat. Aarush had claimed 2 wickets in the first innings and with a total of 9 wickets in the match was named ‘Player of the Tournament’.

Batting first, Chinchani Centre scored 338 for 9 wickets declared in 87 overs in the first innings and declared the second innings after scoring 134 runs for 3 wickets in 15 overs. Tarapur Centre boosted by captain Daiwik Save’s century 102 runs and Vedant Raut’s 45 runs managed to score 175 all out in 45.1 overs. In the second innings, the Tarapur batting collapsed as they folded for just 59 in 34.5 overs. Aarush and Vidhiraj Sukla 2 for 5 did the damage.

In another match, all-rounder Gajanan Narapgol played a key role with bat and ball to help Azad Maidan Centre inflict a comprehensive innings and 107 runs victory against Elf Oval Centre at the Elf ground Oval Maidan. Azad Maidan declared their first innings at 275 for 9 wickets in 81 overs with Gajanan scoring 58 runs.

Elf Oval batting flopped in both innings. They were dismissed for 88 in 39 overs in the first essay with Saransh Sharma claiming 3 wickets for 10 runs. In the second innings Elf were again bundled out for 80 runs in 22.5 overs. Yuhan Sharma 4 for 21 and Gajanan 3 for 15 destroyed the Elf innings. Gajanan won the ‘Player of the Match’ award.

Brief scores: Nallasopara Centre 147 all out, 42.1 overs & 86 all out, 31.5 overs (Aarav Malhotra 6/31, Adved Raut 2/21) lost to Vasai Centre 245 for 5 wickets declared, 64.2 overs (Kshitij Pradyumn Pal 97 (141-balls, 16x4s, 1x6s), Nathaniel Fereira 42, Advait Kandalkar 34 not out; Vedant Sutar 3/18, Prasoon Singh 2/48). Result: Vasai Centre won by an innings and 12 runs.

Chinchani Centre 338 for 9 wkts decl, 87 overs & 134 for 3 wkts decl, 15 overs (Devik Bhoir 53 not out) beat Tarapur Centre 175 all out, 45.1 overs (Daiwik Save 102, Vedant Raut 45; Priyansh Pawar 3/53, Harshit Tiwary 2/25, Nirbhay Keni 2/28, Aarush Thakur 2/15) & 59 all out, 34.5 overs (Vedant Raut 39 not out; Aarush Thakur 7/19, Vidhiraj Sukla 2/5). Result: Chinchani Centre won by 238 runs.

Azad Maidan 275 for 9 wkts decl, 81 overs (Gajanan Narapgol 58) beat Elf Oval 88 all out, 39 overs (Saransh Sharma 3/10) &  80 all out, 22.5 overs (Yuhan Sharma 4/21, Gajanan Narapgol 3/15). Result: Azad Maidan won by an innings and 107 runs.

Matunga Centre 114 all out, 52.3 overs (Shaurya Rai  39; Shlok Kadav 4/25, Saad Khan 4/33) and 129 for 5, 61 overs (Aayush Shete 58 not out, Shaurya Narvekar 33) drew with Mahul Centre 247 for 6 wickets, 53 overs (Aeklavya khade158, Alanbhya Dhulekar 37; Dhairya Rasam 3/30). Result: Match drawn, Mahul took 1st innings lead.

Nerul Centre 422 for 4 wicket, 82 overs & 60 for no loss, 11 overs (Aayush Shinde 33 not out) drew with Chembur Centre 145 all out, 62.2 overs (Siddhant Kedar 34; Vedant Gore 3/38, Vedant Sonawale 3/23). Result: Match drawn, Nerul took 1st innings lead.


Comments are closed.