DY Patil wins the finals of the prestigious Purshottam Shield Tournament’20

Into the all important finals at the PJ Hindu Gymkhana, New Hind Sporting Club opting to bat first posted a 1st innings total of 239/10 in 55 overs. After a decent opening start of 55 runs, New Hind lost some quick middle order wickets but it was all rounder Parikshit Valsangkar at no.7 who played a stellar knock of 92 runs in 99 balls (12 fours, 3 sixes) pushing his team out of trouble and taking the scoreboard to 97/5 to 239 runs. From DY, it was Sairaj Patil who wrecked havoc over the opposition taking 6/46 in 11 overs coupled with 3 maidens.

DY Patil in reply batted well with 4 players scoring half centuries which took the team total to 261 runs in 70 overs. Openers Kaustubh Pawar and Sumit Ghadigaonkar gave a brilliant opening start with both the players scoring classy half centuries. KP was rock solid as usual scoring 66 off 141 balls while Sumit kept himself busy at the crease scoring a timely 51 off 65 balls. Siddarth Chitnis who came at no.5 also looked good for his 51 runs while it was the senior pro Pravin Tambe showing some skills with the bat too with an unbeaten 50* off 70 balls at no.9

New Hind SC in the 2nd innings scored 244/10 with half centuries by opener Bhavin Thakkar (57) and Sachin Yadav (73) while Akshay Jambhekar at no.9 scoring 46 runs. From the bowlers left arm spinner Karsh Kothari (4/64) and Sairaj Patil (3/35) were the pick of the lot. Sairaj also completed a 9 wkt haul in the match with overall bowling figures of 9/81.

Chasing 223, DY Patil on the back of their opener Hitesh Chauhan’s 78 remained alive in the game with scoreboard reading 205/8 in 40 overs at the end of the game’s play. Left-arm spinner Nehal Katakdhond (4 wkts)  was quite close to providing New Hind a memorable win but DY showed resistance with 2 wkts in hand before the end of the game’s where they won the match on 1st innings lead.

Sairaj Patil who took 9 wkts

With this win, DY Patil lift the prestigious Purshottam Shield Title.

Highest Run Scorers-

  • Hashir Dafedar-302 runs in 4 innings @75.50
  • Nikhil Patil-272 runs in 3 innings @136.00
  • Sachin Yadav-240 runs in 4 innings @80.00
  • Sumit Ghadigaonkar-221 runs in 5 innings @44.20
  • Mayuresh Tandel-200 runs in 3 innings @66.67

Highest Wicket-takers

  • Akshay Darekar-14 wkts in 3 innings @13.03
  • Sairaj Patil-12 wkts in 4 innings @10.00
  • Karsh Kothari-12 wkts in 5 innings @22.00
  • John Abraham-11 wkts in 5 innings @18.00
  • Irfan Mullick- 11 wkts in 4 innings @17.00