Mafatlal Cricket Club crowned Champions of the inaugral the Samat T20 Cup’20

Into the all important finals between Mafatlal Cricket Club and Mumbai Customs at the iconic Dadaji Kondev Stadium Thane, Mafatlal CC after being put to bat first posted a good total of 185/7 in 20 overs. Harshad Khadiwale who was been amongst the runs in Samat Cup once again came good for his team scoring a brilliant 81 off 49 balls. It was a strokeful innings which consisted 8 fours and 4 sixes while Miten Shah was rock solid in his 36 ball 53 which ensured Mafatlal were in a strong position. From the bowlers, quickster Aiswarya Surve with 4/20 in 4 overs was the pick of the lot while Shivaji Yadav also bagged 2 wkts in his 4 overs.

Chasing 186 was always going to be a pressure cooker situation for any team and that too in the finals with a big prize money at stake! Mumbai Customs who have been excellent in the tournament finally succumbed to the pressure of chasing as they were all out for 126 runs in 16.5 overs. All-rounder Prasad Pawar looked good for his 21 ball 32 but most of the batters found it difficult to get going. All-rounder Puneet Tripathy certainly stole all the limelight making a strong case for himself with MPL round the corner as he came up with a match winning bowling spell of 5/13 in 2.5 overs. Puneet who is one hard working cricketer finally seems to be getting his due for his efforts as he helps his team Mafatlal become the winners of the Samat T20 Cup. The winning team also won the cash prize of Rs 6 lakhs while the rest of the awards will be declared on 6th of March. Puneet tripathy with 12 wkts is the highest wicket taker of the tournament while Harshad Khadiwale is the highest run scorer of the tournament.


Comments are closed.