Mayekar century steers Mumbai Police into finals of Insurance Shield T20

Tanmay Mayekar’s scored a brilliant 52-ball unbeaten century 100 runs which helped Mumbai Police Cricket ‘Club B’ team defeat HPCL Cricket Club by 7 wickets in a semi-final match of the Insurance Shield T20 Cricket Tournament and played at the National CC ground, Cross Maidan on Wednesday. This tournament resumed today after it was halted due to the Covid-19 lockdown since last March.

Mumbai Police after deciding to field first managed to restrict HPCL to a modest total of 159 for 5 wickets from their quota of 20 overs. HPCL Utkarsh Raut played a crucial knock making 89 runs to lift the innings. Left-arm spinner Yogesh Sawant (2/18) and left-arm medium pacer Yogesh Jagtap (2/28) were responsible for keeping the HPCL batsmen under control.

Later, Mumbai Police’s opening batsmen Mayekar quickly settled down as he started to score runs at a brisk pace and his match-winning effort included nine boundaries and five well-struck hits over the boundary ropes to enable his team reach their winning target scoring 162 for 3 wickets.

Brief scores: HPCL Cricket Club 159 for 5 wickets, 20 overs (Utkarsh Raut 89; Yogesh Sawant 2/18, Yogesh Jagtap 2/28) lost to Mumbai Police Cricket Club ‘B’ 162 for 3 wickets, 20 overs (Tanmay Mayekar 100* (52b, 9×4, 5×6; Sameer Patil 2/23). Result: Mumbai Police won by 7 wickets.

Comments are closed.