New Hind and Dadar Union in Rathod Trophy final’22

Mumbai: New Hind SC and Dadar Union SC scored narrow semi-final victories to set-up a clash in the final of the John Bright Cricket Club organized MCA Rathod Trophy Under-25 T20 knockout cricket tournament, played at the New Hind SC ground, Matunga.

Playing on home turf, New Hind fought well to record a narrow 19 runs victory against Dadar Parsee Zoroastrian (DPZ) in an well-contested semi-final match. The other semi-final also witnessed a tense, exciting finish with Dadar Union SC defeating Payyade SC via the ‘Super Over’ after the scores were tied.

Choosing to bat first, New Hind riding on Vishwajit Jagdale’s 28-ball  half century knock of 55 runs which included five sweetly time shots to the ropes and three powerful sixes managed to reach 186 for 6 wickets from their 20 overs. Rugved More 32 runs and Viraj Jadhav 30 runs also made useful contributions to lift the New Hind total. Ganesh Masurkar 2 for 29 and Atharva Chavan 2 for 34 were DPZ’s successful bowlers.

New Hind bowlers Harshal Jadhav 3 for 19 and Vishal Varande 3 for 31 did the trick by restricting DPZ to 167 for 9 wickets from their quota of 20 overs. DPZ opening bat Monu Chavan made a  strokeful  42-ball 72 runs, while Prashant Pillai 27 runs, and Gamesh Masurkar 24 tried to put up a fight, but their efforts went in vain and finished on the losing side.

Later, Payyade SC batting first made 185 for 5 wickets in 20 overs with Japjeet Randhawa scoring 71 runs and Omkar Ghule making 49 runs. In reply Dadar Union were restricted to 185 for 7 wickets from the stipulated 20 overs. Siddharth Akre struck a 49-ball century 100 with 11 boundaries and five sixes. Payyade bowlers Omkar Ghule 2 for 23 and Dev Patel 2 for 36 claimed crucial wickets to restrict Dadar Union and tie the score.

In the Super Over Dadar Union scored 15 runs for 1 wicket with Akre making 5 runs and Khizar Dafedar an unbeaten 9 runs. Later, Dafedar bowled well and picked up the wicket of Ghule as Payyade managed to score only six runs. Japjeet S. was not out on 5 runs.

Brief scores: New Hind SC 186 for 8 wickets, 20 overs (Vishwajit Jagdale 55 (28, 5,3), Rugved More 32, Viraj Jadhav 30; Ganesh Masurkar 2/29, Atharva Chavan 2/34) beat Dadar Parsee Zoroastrian 167 for 9 wickets, 20 overs (Monu Chavan 72 (42, 7,5), Prashant Pillai 27, Gamesh Masurkar 24; Harshal Jadhav 3/19, Vishal Varande 3/31). Result: New Hind SC won by 19 runs.

Payyade SC 185 for 5 wickets, 20 overs (Japjeet Randhawa 71, Omkar Ghule 49) Vs Dadar Union Sporting Club- 185/7 in 20 overs (Siddharth Akre 100 (49, 11, 5); Omkar Ghule 2/23, Dev Patel 2/36). Result: Match scored tied.

Super Over: Dadar Union 15 for 1 (Siddharth Akre 5, Khizar Dafedar 9) beat Payyade SC 6 for 1 (Japjeet 5).

Comments are closed.