Omni Global recover from an early collapse to win the T20 Challengers Trophy – Gold Cup Final

The final of the T20 Challengers Trophy Gold Cup organised by Maria Sports Academy was played on 1st June 2019 at the Parsee Cyclists Ground , Azad Maidan. Abbott Health Private Limited (AHPL) were facing Omni Global in the final. Both the teams had won 3 games to reach the final.

Omni Global won toss and elected to bowl first. Abbott Healthcare Pvt Ltd. managed an underwhelming 119/8 at the end of 20 overs. The batsmen never got going as Ishan Mithbhavkar was the top run scorer with 16 runs from 20 balls. Sunil Lakka scored 15 runs in the end to take AHPL to their total of 119. Omni Global were excellent with the bowl in their hand ! Karan Chavan took early wickets as the left arm fast bowler ended up with 2 wickets for 8 runs. He was well supported by Pranit Shelar who took 2/17. On a spin friendly wicket Pranit , the left arm spinner , bowled the balls in the right areas and was rewarded.

Runner-up Abbott Healthcare Pvt Ltd Team

Omni Global needed 120 runs to win the final and got off to the worst possible start. Omni Global lost the first 4 wickets for just 8 runs and were 22/5 at one stage. Karan Chavan steadied the innings with the bat as the right handed batsman scored an impressive 57 of 39 balls on a tough wicket. Akash Patil scored 22 runs as both the players eased the pressure. Karan Chavan got out when Omni Global still needed 16 runs but they got there eventually with 3 wickets in hand. Amol Dixit was good with the ball for AHPL as he took 4 wickets for 16 runs , while Harendra Singh took 3 for 26 but to no avail as Omni Global were the winners in the final.

Man of the Match & Best Batsman – Karan Chavan from Omni Global Team

Omni Global won the final with 3 wickets in hand. Karan Chavan was given the Man of the Match award for his impressive all round performance. He was also awarded the Best Batsman. Amol Dixit of AHPL won the Best bowler award while Chandrashekhar Karmalkar of AHPL won the best coach award.

Best Bowler of the Tournament – Amol Dixit From Abbott Healthcare Pvt Ltd Team
Best Corporate Cricket Coach Award : Chandrasekhar Karmalkar
Fair play Award Abbott Healthcare Pvt Ltd. Team (Coach Chandrashekhar Karmalkar & Captain Praveen Singh)


Click here for Omni Global VS Abbott Healthcare Pvt Ltd. Final Match Scorecard …..