Openers Dhanawade, Mhatre power Marwari CC to victory in Salar Jung Tournament’21

Mumbai: Opening batsmen Pranav Dhanawade and Siddharth Mhatre batted with authority and their half century efforts were the highlights as Marwari Cricket Club registered a thumping 10-wicket victory against Young Friends Cricket Club in a first round match of the 71st Nawab Salar Jung Invitation T20 Cricket Tournament, organised by Islam Gymkhana under the auspices of the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA), and played at the Mumbai Police Gymkhana ground, Marine Drive.

Both the batters exhibited plenty of confidence and were in complete control as they scored runs at a quick pace as Marwari easily reached their wining target scoring 161 without losing a wicket in 14.2 overs. Dhanawade scored 79 runs from 43 balls with 10 boundaries and a solitary six, while Mhatre smashed a 43-ball 73 runs which included eight hits to the ropes and four power shots over the fence.

Earlier, Young Friends Cricket Club who were put in to bat, managed to pile up a modest total of 160 for 8 wickets from their stipulated 20 overs. The leading run-scorer for Young Friends was Mohd. Amir Sayyed who made 60 runs (43balls, 9×4), while Wajid Ali Khan 34 runs (24b, 2×4, 3×6) and Sarvesh Patil 29 runs (20b, 6×4) which helped prop the total. Hardik Kurangale (2 for 16), Sarfaraz Shaikh (2 for 19) and Ahmed Khan (2 for 25) were responsible for getting the wickets.

In another match, Muslim Sports Club outplayed Kurla Sports Club by recording a 31-run victory at the Parsee Gymkhana ground, Marine Drive.

Electing to bat first, Muslim SC managed to make 152 runs for the loss of seven wickets from their quota of 20 overs. The leading batsmen who got the runs on the board for Muslim SC was Imran Shaikh 33 runs, Santosh Mapur 32 runs, Omkar Jadhav 31 runs and Azhar Sayyed 26 runs, while Mohddawood Khan (2 for 27) was the only successful Kurla SC bowler.

In reply, Kurla SC were restricted to 121 runs for nine wickets from 20 overs. Jay Rajpopat 48 runs and Aryansh Pandit 34 runs tried to keep Kurla SC in the fight, but the remaining batsmen fell cheaply and finished on the losing side. Muslim SC bowlers Santosh Mapur (3 for 14), Mohd. Yaseen (2 for 4), Imran Shaikh (2 for 7) and Azhar Sayyed (2 for 25) shared the wickets.

Brief scores: Young Friends Cricket Club 160 for 8 wickets, 20 overs (Mohd. Amir Sayyed 60 (43b, 9×4), Wajid Ali Khan 34 (24b, 2×4, 3×6), Sarvesh Patil 29 (20b, 6×4); Hardik Kurangale 2 for 16, Sarfaraz Shaikh 2 for 19, Ahmed Khan 2 for 25) lost to Marwari Cricket Club 161 for no loss, 14.2 overs (Pranav Dhanawade 79 (43b, 10×4, 1×6), Siddharth Mhatre 73 (43b, 8×4, 4×6). Result: Marwari CC won by 10 wickets.

Muslims Sports Club 152 for 7 wickets, 20 overs (Imran Shaikh 33, Santosh Mapur 32, Omkar Jadhav 31, Azhar Sayyed 26; Mohddawood Khan 2 for 27) beat Kurla Sports Club 121 for 9 wickets, 20 overs (Jay Rajpopat 48, Aryansh Pandit 34; Santosh Mapur 3 for 14, Mohd. Yaseen 2 for 4, Imran Shaikh 2 for 7, Azhar Sayyed 2 for 25). Result: Muslims Sports Club won by 31 runs.

Mumbai Police Gymkhana 187 for 6 wickets, 20 overs (Humayun Hirapure 68, Swapnil Kulaye 39, Arman Shaikh 30); Mohd. Wasim Ashraf Sayyed 2 for 29, Abhishek Srivastav 2 for 28) lost to Bombay Gymkhana 188 for 4 wickets, 19.4 overs (Bhupen Lalwani 70*, Abhishek Srivastav 63; Yogesh Jagtap 2 for 24). Result: Bombay Gymkhana won by 6 wickets.


Click here to get mentored from top coaches of India-…
Click here to join a Cricket Academy anywhere in India-
Click here to book cricket ground/nets sessions –
Click here if you wish to donate any cricket goods to Cricketgraph. The campaign is to help needy/deserving cricketers –…
Follow us on Instagram for amazing Cricket Content:
Subscribe our Youtube Channel for Exciting Grassroot Cricket Content:

Comments are closed.