Quick Updates from U23 Shalini Bhalekar Trophy’19

Mumbai, November 19: Lalchand Rajput XI dominated play against Dilip Vengsarkar XI on the first day of their 3-day opening round match of the 24th Shalini Bhalekar Trophy (boys’ under-23) Selection Trials cricket tournament 2019, organized by Mangesh Bhalekar in association with the Dadar Parsi Zoroastrian Sports Club and played at the MCA Sharad Pawar Cricket Academy ground, BKC on Tuesday. The tournament is being conducted under the auspices of the Mumbai Cricket Association.

Utkarsh Raut


Rajput XI electing to bat first put up a solid batting display as the batters scored runs at a rapid pace and three half century efforts from Bhupen Lalwani (73 runs), Pranav Kela (73 runs) and Harshit Janwadkar (71 runs) boosted their first innings,  which closed at a healthy total of 301 in73.4 overs. Vengsarkar bolwers Devendranath Parida (4 for 61) and Prashant Solanki (4 for 93) were the main wicket takers. The Dilip Vengsarkar first innings started shakily as they lost three early wickets with just 31 runs on the board from the remaining seven overs before close of play on the first day. However it was a fightback from Vengsarkar boys thanks to a solid 87 by Utkarsh Raut which pushed the team to 22/10 in 87.4 overs. Shreyas Gurav turned out to be the pick of the lot coming up with 6/103 in 23.4 overs.

In the 2nd innings, Lalchand Rajput XI scored 274/7 powered by Onkar Jadhav’s 73* & a 30 ball 61 by Tanush Kotian down the order giving a target of 360 to the opposition. Chasing a mammoth target, Dilip Vengsarkar XI were cleaned up by the magic of left arm spinner Shreyas Gurav who came with another 6 wkt haul this time conceeding mere 44 runs to reduce Vengsarkar XI to 105 all out.

Shreyas Gurav 6 wickets

Result-U23 Lalchand Rajput XI won by 224 runs

Sairaj Patil

In the second match, Chandrakant Pandit XI were dismissed for 238 runs in 67.4 overs in the first innings against Jahangir Pithawala XI at the Sachin Tendulkar Gymkhana I ground, Kandivali. Sairaj Patil top-scored with a knock of 77 runs while Monil Soni (35 runs) and Maxwell Swaminathan (34 runs) made useful contributions.

Aman Sheoran


Aman Sheoran (4 for 62) picked up most of the wickets. Fast bowler Aman seems to be in terrific nick as he just came back from a scorching fifer in the Police Shield.

In reply, Pithawala XI made a massive 443/6 in 90 overs on the back of some brilliant batting by their middle order. Hardik Tamore at no..3 scored a solid looking 63 off 105 balls while it was Gaurish Jadhav at no.4 who top scored with 127 off 179 balls laced with 14 fours and 3 sixes. Chandrakant Pandit XI batted for 59 overs scoring 260/6 in the 2nd innings at the end of the game’s play where Pithawala XI won the match on 1st innings lead. In the 2nd innings, Sangram Bhalekar (102* off 191 balls), Agni Chopra 61 & Yashraj Malap 50* off 28 balls batted well for C.Pandit XI.

Gaurish Jadhav

Earlier, Chief Guests, former Test cricketer Lalchand Rajput and MCA Apex Council member Ajinkya Naik inaugurated the tournament.