Rao bags a 9 wkt haul, Lokpuram ride on Parulekar’s all-round show in MI Junior Cricket Tournament’20

Mumbai: A flurry of wickets for bowlers grabbed attention in the Mumbai-leg of the Mumbai Indians Junior 2020 Cricket Tournament on Tuesday. Sai Parulekar of Lokpuram Public School, Thane stood out with his terrific all-round performance in the Boys U-14 category match at Cross Maidan.

Parulekar first hammered 50 runs of 46 balls to help Lokpuram put up a total of 251 all-out in 39.5 overs. Aarya Padale (72) and Yash Salian (53) also scored half-centuries. He later grabbed six wickets of opponents Chatrabhuj Narsee School, Kandivali to restrict them to 129 all-out in 22.2 overs and hand his team an emphatic win by 122 runs.

Harsh Rao of Ryan International, Kandivali took nine wickets and Vivaan Sanghani of Ryan International, Chembur took eight wickets to set up convincing wins for their respective teams in the Boys U-14 category.

Rao’s nine-wicket haul helped the Kandivali-based school to bowl out their opponents Ryan International, Malad for 51/10 in 12.3 overs and cruise to a 49-run win despite defending a low score at Cross Maidan.

Sanghani’s eight-wicket haul helped the Chembur side to register a 138-run win. St. Aloysius High School, Bandra were restricted to 80 all-out in 15.2 overs after half-centuries by Arnav Kulkarni (76) and Rishi Iyer (58) guided Ryan International to a challenging total of 218/10 in 36 overs at Oval Maidan.

Meanwhile, in the Boys U-16 match at Azad Maidan, Mayank Rana of VPM Vidyamandir, Dahisar picked up a five-wicket haul against Balmohan Vidyamandir, Dadar to star in an eight-wicket win for his team.

Rana’s bowling performance helped Vidyamandir to limit Balmohan Vidyamandir, Dadar to 70/10 in 22.4 overs which they chased in 22.4 overs after losing just two wickets.

Brief Scores:

U-16 Boys:

Navroz, Azad Maidan

VPM Vidyamandir (Dahisar) 73/2 in 7.3 overs (Kaushik Shukla 18, Shivam Ghosh 17*) beat Balmohan Vidyamandir (Dadar) 70/10 in 22.4 overs, by 8 wickets.

Player of the Match: Mayank Rana of VPM Vidyamandir (Dahisar) for taking 5 wickets.

Elphinstone CC, Azad Maidan

Tree House High School (Virar) 136/10 in 29.4 overs (Shubham Palai 29, Krish Singh 22) beat DG International School (Thane) 54/9 (all out) in 22.2 overs, by 82 runs.

Player of the Match: Tanishq Mane of DG International School (Thane) for taking 6 wickets.

Parsee Cyclist, Azad Maidan

Anjuman-I-Islam English School (Vashi) 84/10 in 17.2 overs (Arif Khan 15, Umar Mujawar 13) beat Abhinav Vidyamandir (Borivali) 49/10 in 14.5 overs, by 35 runs.

Player of the Match: Sahil Shaikh of Anjuman-I-Islam English School (Vashi) for taking 7 wickets.

Times of India, Azad Maidan

Vasant Vihar High School (Thane) 70/2 in 8.3 overs (Krishna Singh 27*, Pranav Satvi 18) beat Holy Cross High School (Lower Parel) 67/10 in 22.4 overs, by 8 wickets.

Player of the Match: Ayush Parab of Vasant Vihar High School (Thane) for taking 4 wickets.

RTO, Azad Maidan

VK Krishna Menon Academy (Borivali) 273/8 in 40 overs (Fardeen Shaikh 58, Satyam Yadav 57) beat St. Anne’s Convent School (Vasai) 155/10 in 37 overs, by 118 runs.

Player of the match: Satyam Yadav of VK Krishna Menon Academy (Borivali) for scoring 57 runs off 47 balls and taking 3 wickets.

Sassanian, Azad Maidan

Rizvi Springfield High School (Khar) 210/10 in 39.4 overs (Siddant Rai 66, Abhishek Yadav 30) beat Shardashram Vidyamandir (Dadar) 83/10 in 24.5 overs, by 127 runs.

Player of the Match: Nishit Balla of Rizvi Springfield High School (Khar) for taking 5 wickets.

New Era, Azad Maidan

Smt. Sulochanadevi Singhania School (Thane) 235/4 in 40 overs (Ritwik Mohanty 65, Taksh Upreti 57*) beat Hiranandani Foundation School 206/6 in 40 overs, by 35 runs.

Player of the Match: Ritwik Mohanty of Smt. Sulochanadevi Singhania School (Thane) for scoring 65 runs off 88 balls and taking 2 wickets.

Young Zorastrain, Azad Maidan

Don Bosco (Matunga) 65/1 in 7.5 overs (Aadi Ghadigaonkar 24*, Aniket Singh 21*) beat St. Aloysius High School 61/10 in 20 overs, by 9 wickets.

Player of the Match: Arya Gandhi of Don Bosco (Matunga) for taking 4 wickets.

U-14 Boys:

United Cricketers, Cross Maidan

Lokpuram Public School (Thane) 251/10 in 39.5 overs (Aarya Padale 72, Yash Salian 53) beat Chatrabhuj Narsee School (Kandivali) 129/10 in 22.2 overs, by 122 runs.

Player of the Match: Sai Parulekar of Lokpuram Public School (Thane) for scroing 50 runs off 46 balls and taking 6 wickets.

LIC, Cross Maidan

Ryan International (Kandivali) 11/10 in 21.3 overs (Aakash Yadav 18, Neel Jogani 18) beat Ryan International (Malad) 51/10 in 12.3 overs, by 49 runs.

Player of the match: Harsh Rao of Ryan International (Kandivali) for taking 9 wickets.

MB Union, Cross Maidan

Chatrabhuj Narsee Monjee School (Vile Parle) 325/5 in 40 overs (Vihan Mehta 112, Devansh Shah 73) beat NL Dalmia High School (Mira Road) 42/10 in 16.3 overs, by 283 runs.

Player of the Match: Shreyan Patel of Chatrabhuj Narsee Monjee School (Vile Parle) for taking 7 wickets.

National CC, Cross Maidan

IES New English School (Bandra) 305/5 in 40 overs (Anant Desai 110*, Hrishikesh Gore 65) beat Sister Nivedita Eng. Med. School (Dombivali) 85/10 in 31.3 overs, by 220 runs.

Player of the Match: Anant Desai of IES New English School (Bandra) for scoring 110 runs off 97 balls (not out)

Youths Own Union, Cross Maidan

Hansraj Morarji Public School 227/5 in 40 overs (Jash Vasu 37, Pranav Vishwakarma 32) beat IES Raja Shivaji Vidyalaya 113/10 in 24.1 overs, by 114 runs.

Player of the Match: Saish Palav of Hansraj Morarji Public School for taking 5 wickets.

Sunder CC, Cross Maidan

Swami Vivekanand Int’l School (Borivali) 22/0 in 3.3 overs (Aftab Manihar 12*, Rayyan Moriswala 9*) beat Dadar Parsee Youth Assembly 21/10 in 16.4 overs, by 10 wickets.

Player of the Match: Alok Pal of Swami Vivekanand Int’l School (Borivali) for taking 7 wickets.

Govt Law, Oval

Ryan International (Chembur) 218/10 in 36 overs (Arnav Kulkarni 76, Rishi Iyer 58) beat St. Aloysius High School (Bandra) 80/10 in 15.2 overs, by 138 runs.

Player of the Match: Vivaan Sanghani of Ryan International (Chembur) for taking 8 wickets.

High Court, Oval

Shishuvan School (Matunga) 170/6 in 33.1 overs (Rishabh Karani 82*, Tirth Gada 19*) beat The NKES High School 169/8 in 40 overs, by 4 wickets.

Player of the Match: Rishabh Karani of Shishuvan School (Matunga) for scoring 82 runs off 97 balls (not out)

U-16 Girls:

Worli Sports Club Match No. 1

IES Navi Mumbai High School 252/4 in 25 overs (Anuja Sawant 53*, Juili Bhekre 50) beat SM Shetty High School (Powai) 75/10 in 17.3 overs, by 177 runs.

Player of the Match: Juili Bhekre of IES Navi Mumbai High School for scoring 50 runs off 68 balls and taking 3 wickets.

Worli Sports Club Match No. 2

Pawar Public School gets a walkover

[St. Aloysius High School]

Sai Parulekar
Sai Parulekar