Smin, Marlesh, Yagnesh shine in Thane’s victory in U14 Ajit naik Tournament’22

Mumbai: The standout batting of Smin Kini 107 runs (156-balls, 14x4s) and Marlesh Shinde 105 runs (116-balls, 14x4s, 1×6) and the mesmerizing bowling by Yagnesh Kamat (7 for 20) were instrumental in Thane Centre registering an innings and 102 runs win against Kalyan Centre on the second day of their 2-day third round match of the 25th Ajit Naik Memorial Under-14 selection trials cricket tournament 2022, organised by WSC under the aegis of the Mumbai Cricket Association and played at the KDMC ground, Kalyan.

Thane dominated the match from the start dismissing Kalyan for 80 runs in 28.4 overs in their first innings. Aryan Vichare (4 for 29) and Smin Kini (3 for 5) shared the Kalyan wickets. The Thane batsmen batted confidently with Smin and Marlesh, both cracking centuries and declared their first innings at 295 for 4 wickets in 28.4 overs to gain a healthy 215 lead. The Kalyan second innings was rocked by Yagnesh who took wickets at regular intervals and were bowled out for 113 runs in 50.1 overs and lost the match.

In another match, Nallasopara Centre powered by the Prasoon Singh who claimed match figures of 10 wickets for 73 runs scored a comprehensive win defeating Tarapur Centre by an innings and 126 runs, at the Sainath Sports Club ground, Virar. Batting first Nallasopara Centre declared the first innings after making a massive 315 runs for 6 wickets in 66.2 overs. Later, the Tarapur batsmen struggled against the Nallasopara bowlers, in particular Prasoon (5 for 32) and were bundled out for 65 runs in 32.1 overs. Following on Tarapur once again found it difficult to bat and except for captain Daiwik Save who scored 58 run, the other batsmen  fell cheaply as Prasoon claimed 5 for 41) to destroy the Tarapur second innings for 124 runs in 47.2 overs and complete the win.

Brief scores: Kalyan Centre 80/10 (28.4 Ov) & 113/10 (50.1 overs (Aditya V.S. 26, Aditya Raj 26; Yagnesh Kamat 7/20, Karthik Kumar 2/15) lost to Thane Centre 295 for 4 wickets declared, 28.4 overs (Smin Kini 107(156, 14x4s, Marlesh Shinde 105 (116, 14x4s, 1×6), Ameya More 43; Nishant Bhoir 3/50). Result: Thane Centre won by an innings and 102 runs.

Player of the Match: Yagnesh Kamat (Thane).

Badalapur Centre 261 for 6 wickets declared, 54.4 overs & 58 for 3 wickets declared, 7 overs (Shubam Gupta 40 not out; Rugved Rane 2/27) lost to Dombivali Centre 169 all out, 57 overs (Mohammed Armaan Khan 54, Sai Kalan 24 not out; Himanshu Singh 4/44, Jayesh Mhaskar 4.43) & 151 for 2 wickets, 30.1 overs (Vedant Singh 74 not out, Mohammed Khan 37). Result: Dombivali Centre won by 8 wickets.

Player of the Match: Mohammed Armaan Khan (Dombivali).

Nallasopara Centre 315 for 6 wickets declared, 66.2 overs beat Tarapur Centre 65 all out 32.1 overs (Prasoon Singh 5/32, Rushil Ghadi 2/2) & 124 all out 47.2 overs (Daiwik Save 58, Vedant Raut 27; Prasoon Singh 5/41, Dedant Sutar 3/19). Result: Nallasopara Centre won by an innings and 126 runs.

Player of the Match: Prasoon Singh (Nallasopara).

Matunga Centre 285 for 7 wickets declared, 80 overs (Shrihaan Haridaass 97, Aayush Shete 58; Jay Patil 2/94, Shoaib Ansari 2/69) drew with Chembur Centre 49 all out, 25.4 overs (Shimmer Sapra 6/12) & 154 for 4 wickets, 45 overs (Mohdhamza Khan 60 not out, Om Bangar 32; Shardul Pawar 2/32). Result: Match Drawn, Matunga Centre won on 1st innings lead.

Player of the Match: Shimmer Sapra (Matunga).

Nerul Centre 292 for 9 wickets declared, 66 overs & 113 for 4 wickets, 22 overs (Aagneya Aadi 51, Varad Magar 30) drew with Mahul Centre 242 all out, 65.5 overs (Saif Khan 109, Aeklavya Khade 64; Aagneya Aadi 5/6, Shaurya Gaikwad 2/61). Result: Match Drawn, Nerul Centre won on 1st innings lead.

Player of the Match: Aagneya Aadi (Nerul).

Vasai Centre 401 for 9 wickets declared, 95.1 overs (Kshitij Pradyumn Pal 176, Advait Khandalkar 100 not out, Swapnil Verma 47; Nehal Meher 2/34, Nirbhay Keni 2/56, Aarush Thakur 2/71, Priyansh Pawar 2/75) drew with Chinchani Centre 147 all out, 73.1 overs (Daivik Bhoir 39, Manav Keni 35; Yuvraj Patil 4/36, Swapnil Verma 3/13, Aarav Malhotra 2/28). Result: Match Drawn, Vasai Centre won on 1st innings lead.

Player of the Match: Kshitij Pradyumn Pal (Vasai)

Attachments area

Comments are closed.