T20 Women’s Tournament in the name of Ajit Ghosh Memorial Tournament begins from 30th October, 19

Women’s Cricket is the need of the hour and the growth which women’s cricket in India has witnessed in the last few years has been nothing but positive. Even our current Mumbai Women’s team is performing well remaining unbeaten in Senior T20 Tournaments. Hence to groom young women cricketers, you need to give them a lot of professional matches to play & practice at the local level & a tournament like this are nothing but a great platform for aspiring women cricketers.

The tournament will be conducted under the aegis of Mumbai Cricket Association while it is organized by Sporting Union Club & Kalyandas Memorial Sports Foundation. There are 8 teams which will participate in the tournament and the venues decided for the matches will be Shivaji Park Gymkhana & Mumbai Police Gymkhana.

Arundhati Ghosh (Former India Test and ODI Women’s Cricketer) speaking with Cricketgraph quipped “This tournament is supported by Hansaben Mehta who is doing a noble cause for Women’s Cricket, there will be 8 teams participating in the tournament and the winners receive a big prestigious Ajit Ghosh Memorial Trophy, It’s an open age tournament with 15 matches where most of the local players participating are from Club level & Mumbai age groups, hence good performances in this tournament will certainly be noticed which might give young women cricketers higher levels of opportunity”

The semi-finals will be on 4th at Police Gymkhana and the finals will be on 5th October on the same ground. The Winners receive Ajit Ghosh Trophy while the runners up receive Kalyandas Memorial Trophy.

Comments are closed.