Waghela 66 runs knock powere John Bright win in Kale Cup’20


Mumbai: Gautam Waghela’s brilliant knock of 66 runs powered John Bright CC to a thumping 9-wicket win against New Amrit CC in a second round match of the Kale Cup T20 Cricket Tournament, for C and D Division teams, and played at the Shivaji Park Gymkhana.

Waghela dominated the New Amrit bowlers and scored his runs from just 39 balls with seven boundaries and a solitary six as John Bright easily surpassed the target scoring 113 for just one wicket in 13 overs.

Earlier, New Amrit after deciding to bat first could only manage to reach a score of 110 for 3 wickets in 16 overs. Rohan Tambe top-scored with 44 runs. Waghela won the ‘Man of the match’ award.

In another match, Saurabh Singh’s cracking half century steered Yogi Cricket Club to a 39-run victory against Prabhu Jolly Young Cricketers.

Saurabh scored an exact 50 runs from 32 balls (6×4, 1×6), as Yogi CC made 151 runs for the loss of 8 in the truncated 16 overs innings. All-rounder Meet Desai contributed a 19-ball 26 runs. Prabhu Jolly’s Deep Rawal (2 for 23) was the most successful bowler.

Prabhu Jolly Young Cricketers were unable to chase down the target and were restricted to 112 for 8 wickets in 16 overs. Rohan Jadhav batted solidly scoring 40 runs from just 22 balls (2×4, 2×6), but received no support from the other batsmen. Meet Desai (3 for 19) was the main wicket-taker.

Saurabh Singh was later adjudged Man of the match.

In another match, Wellington CC recorded a 22-run victory against M.V. Sports Club.

Brief scores: New Amrit CC 110 for 3 wickets in 16 overs (Rohan Tambe 44, Manan Zatakia 27; Rahul Kesari 2 for 11) lost to John Bright CC 113 for 1 wicket in 13 overs (Gautam Waghela 66). Result: John Bright CC won by 9 wickets.

Gautam Waghela (Swami Vivekanand Borivali) 121 runs in 82 balls 13 fours and 1 six
Gautam Waghela 

Man of the match: Gautam Waghela (John Bright).

Yogi Cricket Club 151 for 8 in 16 overs (Saurabh Singh 50, Meet Desai 26; Deep Rawal 2 for 23) beat Prabhu Jolly Young Cricketers 112 for 8 wickets in 16 overs (Rohan Jadhav 40; Meet Desai 3 for 19).

Result: Yogi Cricket Club won by 39 runs.

Man of the match: Saurabh Singh (Yogi Cricket Club).

Wellington CC 182 for 3 wickets in 20 overs (Aniket Khadpe 55, Vishwajit Jagdale 45; Shubham Panda 3 for 29) beat M.V. Sports Club 160 for 4 wickets in 20 overs (Kapil Yadav 65, Darshan Bhange 39; Mateen Mansoori 2 for 34). Result: Wellington CC won by 22 runs.

Man of the match: Vishwajit Jagdale (Wellington CC).

Comments are closed.